Nepalese Women Climbers to Conquer the 7 Summits

Nepalese Women Climbers to Conquer the 7 Summits

Posted Mar 8th, 2009 under Company News,

A group of 10 Nepalese women mountaineers, who had successfully scaled Mt. Everest in 2008, is all set to conquer the seven summits, the highest mountains of the seven continents. The female mountaineers announced their plans at a press conference held in Kathmandu on 7th March 2009. Their mission would begin in August this year and they would climb the highest mountains of all seven continents within two to three years.

The group includes Shushmita Maskey, Shaili Basnet, Nimdoma Sherpa, Maya Gurung, Poojan Acharya, Usha Bista, Asha Kumari Singh, Nawang Futi Sherpa, Chunu Shrestha and Pema Diki Sherpa.Their ages range from 18 to 31 years. The climbers come from six different ethnic communities.

So far only one Nepalese climber, Lhakparita Sherpa, has scaled the seven summits. The seven summits are: Mount Aconcagua (6962 m) in South America, Mount McKinley (6194 m) in North America, Mount Kilimanjaro (5895 m) in Africa, Mount Elbrus (5642 m) in Europe, Mount Vinson Massif (4897m) in Antarctica, Mount Kosciusko (2228 m) in Australia and Mount Carstenz Pyramid (4884 m) in ‘Oceania’.

Warning: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable in /home/customer/www/ on line 41
« | »


  1. This is really good news news for Nepal to spread the news of Nepal in the international diaspora.

    Best of luck to the team of women climbers.


    - Shreemani

Happy Explorers

They got us everything we needed and really helped us on our trek. We enjoyed every minute with them.

- From USA, November 2011 Read Testimonials | Submit Your Testimonial

Community Service

Community Service

We work with the motto "Tourism for Development". Explore Himalaya Community Service Project was conceived to empower underprivileged segments of Nepal.

Join our community services