Blog – Explore Himalaya Travel & Adventure

Mount Annapurna East (8013m) is certified the new 8000er by Chinese Scientists

According to a report on Chinese daily ‘Xinhua’ three new mountains have been added on the eight-thousanders list as per the findings made by Chinese scientists. At present the world recognizes only 14 peaks in the 8000m range. With the findings of the Chinese scientists the count of 8000ers will rise to 17. The three new 8000m peaks are Mount Annapurna East (8,013m) in Nepal, Mount Center (8,011m) bordering China and Kashmir and West Shishapangma (8,008m) in Tibet . The findings made by the scientists will soon be published in a book entitled "World Eight-thousander Snow Mountain Atlas". The atlas will have detailed mapping of all the 17 mountains rising more than 8,000 meters above the sea level. The book will be published both in Chinese and English.


The Annapurna Range

 Annapurna Trekking

Shisapangma Expedition

Share this postShare on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+


  1. Gábor Kunos says:

    And what about with the other 8000 meters subsidiary peaks?
    Kangchendzönga West Peak
    Kangchendzönga Central Peak
    Kangchendzönga South Peak
    Lhotse Central Peak
    Lhotse Shar
    Broad Peak Central Peak

  2. Gábor Kunos says:

    Shisha Pangma West Peak is’nt any 8000 meters peak.
    Shisha Pangma Centra Peak is the 8008 meter peak.
    Is1nt it?

Leave a Reply